Found In You.

wesblackburn —  January 27, 2014 — Leave a comment

Today’s song for #MusicMonday is from Vertical Church and it’s called “Found In You.”

(Can’t see the video? Click here to be redirected to the YouTube video.)

If you pressed me to identify the most transformational truth that God has used to shape my life as a Christ follower, I’d point you to the simple fact that God can always be trusted to have the best interests of his children at heart. That doesn’t mean that we always get what we want, but exactly what we need. (I hated that my mom made me go to the dentist every six months as a kid, but I know that’s exactly what I needed to have teeth now as a 25-year-old.)

In Galatians 5:1, Paul writes that “it is for freedom that Christ has set us free.” In other words, God’s agenda in sending Christ to offer his life for us wasn’t to get something from us, but because he desired something for us: freedom. In another verse, Paul would write that “where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom” (2 Corinthians 3:17). In other words, when I go where God is, I’m connecting myself to the source of ultimate freedom. When I spend time with him, I’m getting connected to the source of life, freedom, and every other good thing.

Truly, all we could ever want (and definitely need) is found within Jesus. But for some reason, that always feels counterintuitive to me. It’s probably because the culture in which we live inundates us with messages that all we want or need is found in a relationship, in buying this new thing, in owning a particular kind of house, or having a certain type of job (or something else). But the more and more we discipline and train ourselves to desire Christ, the more and more I think we are going to find satisfaction, life, and freedom in him. I hope you are led to discover that in a really cool way today.

wesblackburn

Posts

Suncrest//Highland Campus Pastor. But more importantly, 26th place finisher in the 2013 Highland Jack o' Lantern Jog 5k.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

