Crown Him (Majesty).

wesblackburn —  October 28, 2013 — Leave a comment

Today’s song for #MusicMonday is an updated version of an old hymn that some of you might know called “Crown Him with Many Crowns.” Cool stuff! You can watch and listen below.

(Can’t see the video? Click here to be directed to the YouTube page.)

I can’t speak for anyone else, but I struggle in my life a lot with being a bit of a control freak. I like to be in charge of the outcome of my life, and oftentimes it really just ends up stressing me out. Constantly I think the Holy Spirit is impressing on me the truth that I am not in control. I remember a powerful example in the life of our church from several years ago when we went through the Plan B series. One of the messages in that series was a reminder that we are not in control. I remember that reminder being very powerful for me personally, as well as having many conversations with people in my community group and at my campus who felt the same way.

Fast forward to today’s song. Here’s a great reminder to us that I am not the king (or queen) of the universe. God is. Any mindset in my life that places me at the center, me in control… that’s wrong. Jesus Christ needs to lie at the center. He is in control, and we serve him, not the other way around. The goal of our lives is to place Christ at the center and to experience the joy that comes from a life of serving him. Many of you could share stories from your life about this counter-intuitive truth and the freedom that brings. Let’s strive to make much of God and less of ourselves today. As John the Baptist said beautifully in John chapter 3, “He [meaning Jesus] must become greater; I must become less.” Imagine the power of a church that made that their mission, their creed, their motto today!

Happy listening. Let’s do what we can to serve Christ and crown him today.

wesblackburn

Posts

Suncrest//Highland Campus Pastor. But more importantly, 26th place finisher in the 2013 Highland Jack o' Lantern Jog 5k.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

