Beyond Sunday – Tough Topics: Jesus among other gods

Kay Roberts —  August 1, 2013 — Leave a comment

…by Amanda Huber

Do you have a song that brings you to your knees? There are parts of several songs that I literally come out of body when I hear. My hands fly up to God, I’m on my tippy toes as if I could actually reach Him if I just get a little higher, and I get so choked up I can’t even sing the words. I can’t even whisper the words. I’m sure the words are different for everyone but my words are about those painful nights followed by joy-filled mornings and God’s everlasting love for us. I’ve heard the songs a hundred times but my heart races every time I hear the band start. Those songs are my songs. They are your songs too but to me, they are my songs. Just like Jesus. To me, He is my Jesus. He is my friend, my companion, the one I talk to and beg help, guidance, and forgiveness from. But really, He is your Jesus too. He loves you just as much as He loves me. I’m a jealous lover of Jesus and find it hard to say that He loves you as much as He loves me, but He does. You see, Jesus does stuff for me – He brings me the most beautiful birds, butterflies, and bunnies just to see me smile or to remind me of a loved one who is with Him. Jesus catches my attention and changes my focus with a specific scent. He guards me from harm and nudges me to change my path. He does so much for me but He does these things for you too. Do you notice them? Do you thank Him? He longs for our praise and our worship. Jesus has taught me so much through my experiences. I fail and I fail and I fail. I hurt the ones I love the most and fail again. Yet He still loves me and encourages me to do the right thing. There is always a new day. There is always forgiveness and mercy and another shot to do it right. I’m a lot different than who I used to be and I still have a long way to go but I’m growing and honoring the path I’m on. Trying to live each moment with love. It’s not easy but I imagine it’s not supposed to be. But do you know what the best thing about Jesus is? It’s that He is the door – the only door that leads to heaven. To be a Christian means to follow Christ and to follow Christ means that we believe the words of Jesus in the Bible. “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me” (John 14:6 NIV). This is what sets us apart from other religions. This is what we must convey – with love.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

