We Are.

wesblackburn —  June 24, 2013 — Leave a comment

Today’s edition of #MusicMonday comes from Kari Jobe and the song “We Are.” Take a listen:

(Can’t see the video? Click here!)

Those of you who know me know that I am extremely fond of the city of Cincinnati, Ohio. It’s where I went to college, where I met some great friends, and honestly, where I made some great memories. While it’s been four years since I last lived in the city, it still holds a special fondness for me. I was last back in November, and as I made my way to some of my favorite hangouts and saw a couple of friends in the city, I was struck with a special sense of nostalgia, I suppose.

But enough about memories. The reason I bring up Cincinnati is because it is so hilly. If you’ve never been there, it’s kind of hard to explain. People sometimes refer to Cincinnati as the city of seven hills, just to reflect how drastically the terrain changes. It was so embedded within the city that the church I attended while living in Cincinnati actually talked about their core values as the “hills we die on.” It’s embedded!

Cincinnati Christian University (where I attended college) was actually located on the very top of a hill in one of the city’s more downtrodden neighborhoods. CCU adopted Jesus’ words from Matthew 5:14 as a sort of unofficial motto: “You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden.” Later on in verse 16, Jesus would continue teaching us by saying that as followers of him we are to “let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.”

While I can’t say for sure, I’m going to guess that this song is based upon those verses. The fact is that those of us who would label ourselves as followers of Jesus Christ really are the light of the world. Each day, we are given an opportunity to shine the light of Christ into our world and make a difference. Honestly, I haven’t always done the greatest job at that. There have been seasons of my life where I’ve been more concerned about blending in with the world than shining out. But I really do believe that as we do our best to follow Jesus and live out our faith, that’s an appealing thing for our friends and family who are far from God, not an offputting one.

I hope you shine God’s light today! And I hope that in the process you are used to change lives!

wesblackburn

Posts

Suncrest//Highland Campus Pastor. But more importantly, 26th place finisher in the 2013 Highland Jack o' Lantern Jog 5k.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

