Beyond Sunday – Dad Fest

Kay Roberts —  June 20, 2013 — Leave a comment

…by Dave Wright

In past blogs, I have written about financial issues, relationships, how to talk to people about God, Faith, and even unseen things.  But this week I finally get to write about something I am an expert at…lol.

“I’m not a baby, I am a man. I am an anchorman.

I’m a man who discovered the wheel and built the Eiffel Tower out of metal and brawn.”
Yeah, I just went there…a quote from the movie classic, Anchorman – the Legend of Ron Burgundy.  Isn’t this how men think?  Really?  

I remember my Father as a quiet, but confident man.  After listening to Greg Sunday, I see the building blocks of greatness he was talking about in how my Dad lived.  Time and time again, I saw him deciding who and what really matters, stepping out in faith, and fighting through tough times.  But his trust in God stuck out to me the most.  He fully believed that putting your faith in God and what the Bible says was important.

I know not all people have fond memories of the Dads.  There are good ones, and there are REALLY, REALLY, bad ones.  I hope my kids see the good things I try to do for them.  The issue I have is being too hard on me as a Dad.  Am I doing what is right for them?  Am I showing them how to fight through bad times?  How about stepping out in faith?  Maybe I am not quite the “man expert” I thought I was?

 

All those questions turn me back to leaning on God for His strength, grace, and mercy.  Men, (and yes, women)…are you turning to God?

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

