All I Am.

wesblackburn —  May 27, 2013 — Leave a comment

Today’s song is called “All I Am,” by Phil Wickham. But today is special in that I found a video of some different artists doing a cover of this song. I thought it was really well done!

(If you can’t see the video in your blog reader, click here.)

I always grow very convicted by the concept of surrender. I think that when we boil our faith down to the most elemental level, surrender is a theme that shows up. Because, after all, isn’t the Christian life about surrendering our lives to Christ more and more each day?

Recently I was in a meeting with Greg, our lead pastor, and he reminded us of the simple fact that when God speaks, he doesn’t do so just for consideration. God speaks for our surrender. Our obedience. And in that moment, something resonated with me. As I spoke about that with God the next morning in prayer, I grew convicted about an area of my life where I think I’ve treated God’s words more as advice for my consideration, not a command from the God who loves me and asks me to follow his will. And the more and more I thought about it, the more and more I realized that I was in the wrong and that I needed to seek God’s repentance and forgiveness.

I’m hoping the message of this song will sink in for all of us, and that our refrain to our God would be “all I am is Yours.” I’m praying for our church to truly offer every part of ourselves to him and trust that he will honor that obedience and use it to change lives!

wesblackburn

Posts

Suncrest//Highland Campus Pastor. But more importantly, 26th place finisher in the 2013 Highland Jack o' Lantern Jog 5k.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

