Open Up Our Eyes.

wesblackburn —  April 29, 2013 — Leave a comment

This week’s #MusicMonday contains a selection from Elevation Worship and the song “Open Up Our Eyes.” Let’s take a listen:

(If you can’t see the video in your blog reader or e-mail, please click here.)

This song has taken on a whole new meaning for me lately. As those of you who attend Suncrest know, we’ve spent the past few weeks in this series of messages called Unseen where we have been exploring the Bible’s teachings on the unseen spiritual world. Week one began with a simple next step from Greg: to notice.

We accompanied that singular next step with a phrase: “Hmmm… I wonder where that came from?” I can’t speak for anyone else, but I know that simply noticing has been a powerful thing for me. There’s so much about my life that I chalk up to myself: my own struggles, thoughts, and insecurities, the way people seem to respond when I communicate on Sundays at church, my natural attitudes and responses to words from friends, co-workers, etc., and even ideas that seem to come out of nowhere and find their way into my heart and soul. Normally, I just attribute these things to me. But several times over the past weeks I’ve found myself asking if maybe something deeper, something unseen is at work.

The prayer for God to open up our eyes is a really powerful one for me in this context. It’s a reminder to me that I can’t see everything around me; that God is at work in a world that I can’t see. And what’s more, God and his army of angels are fighting for and with me in that unseen world. My bet is that I wouldn’t get so discouraged or disappointed in the stuff about my life if I’d truly allow God to open up my eyes, see that I’m not alone, and see that so many others are fighting for the kingdom all around me. It’s a cool thing to think about… and to sing about.

wesblackburn

Posts

Suncrest//Highland Campus Pastor. But more importantly, 26th place finisher in the 2013 Highland Jack o' Lantern Jog 5k.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

