Beyond Sunday – Unseen: Angels

Kay Roberts —  April 25, 2013 — Leave a comment

…by Kevin McHugh

 

So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal – 2 Corinthians 4:18

 

I don’t know about you but this series is really helping me sense a little more of the unseen spirit world. Remember the first week when Greg simply asked us to notice and then just consider “I wonder where that came from?” We were then challenged to have 5-10 of these moments each day and I fell woefully short of that challenge, but I sure did have a couple each day and it was really very interesting; it was like tuning into the unseen world just a little bit more than I ever have. Last week’s teaching on satan and his demon spirits was equally fascinating and practical in my life. There were 2 or 3 occasions during the week where I was about to react negatively in a situation and then I stopped and wondered where the thought came from….then I changed my reaction to a better way. Was it a dark spirit? I don’t know, maybe. Was it a helpful thought process? Yes.

 

This week we heard about angels and what the Bible tells us about them. The first point Greg made was that just like us, they worship God. Then Greg went on to teach about how they relate to us; they act as agents of the Lord, they protect us, they fight for us, they are messengers to us, and they serve us.

 

There were two pieces of Scripture that struck me in the message and hit me still as I reflect on it later. First from Psalm 91:11-12 “For he will command his angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways; they will lift you up in their hands, so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.” It is amazing to consider that demons might be at work trying to trip us up (strike our foot against a stone) and angels intervene to stop them and we may notice or we may be totally oblivious to the whole thing.   

 

The other verse that hit me was Acts 12:11. Then Peter came to himself and said “Now I know without a doubt that the Lord has sent his angel and rescued me from Herod’s clutches…”  I underlined the part Greg emphasized because it is such a big take away. Peter noticed, he recognized an angel from the unseen world. Sure he might have had a little more tangible evidence than we typically do, but you and I can spot the activity of the unseen world as well. I liken it to the older radios we used to have before the digital age. We would turn the dial by fractions of millimeters to try and tune in the best signal – that is what this series is doing for me by helping me to tune in a little better to the world I cannot see.

 

Thank God for angels and I pray I can notice them more.

 

 

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

