STRONG Challenge- Day 18: John 18

Kay Roberts —  March 27, 2013 — Leave a comment

…by Amanda Huber

Reading John 18, I really connected with this scripture. I’ve been done wrong. Who hasn’t? I have had friends that totally bailed on me, stabbed me in the back and just sat there acting like they didn’t even know me when people were talking poorly about me. I have been accused of things I haven’t done and I have felt helpless about numerous situations in my life. You know who else experienced all of these things and in this chapter of the Bible alone? Jesus! The SON OF GOD! Who am I to think “oh no you didn’t” when even JESUS was treated this way?

 

But Jesus did it right. He always did. He was accountable when the authorities came looking for him. He didn’t let his friends get involved. He knew what he had to do and he did it. “Do you think for a minute I’m not going to drink this cup the Father gave me?” (JOHN 18:11) I certainly didn’t respond that way in my experiences.

 

One of my most dear passages of this chapter is when Jesus is being questioned whether he is the King of Jews by Pilate, the Roman Governor. Jesus responds that he is “not the world’s kind of king” (JOHN 18:36). Pilate asks, “So, are you a king or not?” Jesus answered, “You tell me. Because I am King, I was born and entered the world so that I could witness to the truth. Everyone who cares for truth, who has any feeling for the truth, recognizes my voice” (JOHN 18:37). Pilate then leaves Jesus and returns to the Jews. Pilate states that he sees no reason to execute Jesus and requests pardoning him in honor of the Passover (which is the Jews’ custom). The Jews didn’t want this. They wanted our Jesus dead.

 

Jesus knew what God had in store for him. He didn’t want to be betrayed and persecuted but he knew that God’s will for his life here on earth was better than anything he could do on his own. He was brought here to earth for a reason. Jesus was brought here to be human. To experience the junk we experience. To be hurt and angry and sad. To be relatable. But mostly, Jesus was brought here to be our role model. To handle these situations with accountability, trust in God, and prayer-filled peace. We should all strive to be not this world’s kind of person. Be different. Be Godly. Be an example of truth.

 

My stuff was completely trivial – whereas Jesus went on to make the ultimate sacrifice. Willingly.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

