STRONG Challenge- Day 14: John 14

Kay Roberts —  March 23, 2013 — Leave a comment

… by Kay Roberts

Trust. 

This is something I struggle with, daily. Do I trust that God is who He says is? If I’m at all honest, my gut reaction is a resounding “Yes” but really it’s for every other person in the world, not for me who is unworthy of God’s love. Don’t misunderstand me, I can not imagine my life without Jesus and His Word. I am utterly lost without Him. My struggle with TRUST stems from a trauma that happened to our family which resulted in developing this defense mechanism I’ve lived with my whole life. When I was 4 years old, my parents separated and then divorced, shattering the only world I’ve ever known leaving me to deal with pain that really, no 4 year old (actually any aged child) is equipped to deal with. I live in this constant state of “waiting for the floor to drop out from under me” and needing to be “ready for anything in case it does”.

This whole chapter is a reminder that Jesus’ has it all under control.He is reassuring us that we are His. That He isn’t leaving us alone in this very scary and unpredictable world. That we can TRUST Him. And that actually He is sending a COMFORTER to us, the Holy Spirit, to LIVE IN US and that He is directly connected to God the Father and when the Holy Spirit speaks he is actually repeating to us EXACTLY what God has spoken to Him!

So I take comfort in that… and you should too. That the God of the Universe loves you so much that He not only sent Jesus but sent His very own Spirit to live in and guide us to bring us COMFORT. He knew then exactly what we need for today.

“Don’t let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God, and trust also in me.” John 14:1 (NLT)

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

