Beyond Sunday – STRONG Challenge: Study

Kay Roberts —  March 14, 2013 — Leave a comment

…by Bobby Jackson

I liked thinking through the idea of study not as memorizing facts or writing out lists, but as a breakfast type of setting where God hears about my world and then tells me about what He thinks of those areas and how He feels about me.

 

Sunday at the St. John campus we walked through this idea:

Knowledge of how He feels about this world, my situation, and ultimately me, helps to yield a good relationship that is based on truth.  Out of a good relationship we find strength and security.

 

Knowledge                 Relationship               Strength

 

So I began to daydream about what relationships without knowledge would look like.  I think it would be like a third cousin.  I have a relationship with them, but I don’t know them at all (do you know your third cousin?).  So what would knowledge without relationship be?  I think that would be siri.  Neither of those is the kind of relationship I want to have with God (sorry apple users – despite what you might think, siri is not real and you can’t really have a relationship with a computer program).

 

I’m thankful that God does not hide His Word from us or create secret clues that only the smart people can figure out.  We can do this.  We can read the Bible and hear God’s words, His advice, His instruction.

 

I’m taking up the STRONG challenge and am working to read one chapter of the book of John each day between today and Easter morning.

 

I so appreciate this blog, the resources listed, and how they’ll track with me as I read through John.  Let’s do it together.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

