STRONG Challenge- Day 4: John 4

Kay Roberts —  March 13, 2013 — Leave a comment

…by Rebekah Jackson

The story of the woman at the well is one of my favorite stories in scripture.  When I think about the way that woman must have felt after her encounter with Jesus, it brings tears to my eyes.  I have felt unlovable.  In my worst, loneliest moments I have felt like there wasn’t a single person that would love me if they really knew who I was, what I had done. So to watch this woman be completely exposed and still have salvation offered is life-changing.  God went out of His way (literally) to let this woman know there was hope for her.  The spring of God’s living water inside us is available for everyone, Jews, Samaritans, adulterous woman trying to hide their sin and shame, me, and you.
Now into chapter four, I am beginning to think there are a couple things I should be learning about as I read this.  1) Other people will begin believing because of the things I say and do.  (The people said to the woman, “First we believed in Jesus because of what you told us. But now we believe because we heard him ourselves. We know now that he really is the one who will save the world.” John 4:42) and 2) God’s kingdom is different than what we might expect.  (But the time is coming when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth. In fact, that time is now here. And these are the kind of people the Father wants to be his worshipers. God is spirit. So the people who worship him must worship in spirit and truth.” John 4:23-24)  I wonder what the church and the world would look like if we considered those two things.

Are the disciples driving you crazy yet?  It’s not just me, right? These guys are totally clueless.  What I wouldn’t give to be where they are and they can’t seem to figure anything out.  Honestly though, I have no idea.  I’d probably be like Nicodemus wondering how things could possibly be so different than I imagined.

 

I’m enjoying the journey through John. Hope you are too!

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

