In Your Presence.

wesblackburn —  March 4, 2013 — Leave a comment

A few weeks ago I had an interesting experience in my time with God in the morning.

Frequently, I use an e-mail devotion that we’ve talked about on here before called “The Daily.” On this particular morning the devotion focused on Galatians 5:22-25, which some of you might already know is the passage talking about the fruit of the Spirit. After talking about the passage a little bit, the next step for the devotion was simple: Imagine someone doing these fruits to you or think of a time in your life when someone exhibited one or more of these fruits toward you.

Not to be cliche, but the overwhelming imagery for me here was Jesus. I thought about the way that he has loved me. I thought about how it was his joy to die for us so that we could have life with him. I thought about the times he gave me peace, and I thought about how patient and kind he has been with me in the midst of my sin. All of this was really rich and beautiful imagery to me. What was even more cool was thinking through a lot of the Bible verses that talk about how Jesus has been these things to us.

After I finished up, I ate some breakfast, took a shower, got dressed and went to work. And as I drove to the office that morning, I listened to this new song from those loveable hipsters at Elevation Worship and thought about my time with God that morning. He really has been my guide. He has been with me. I’ve seen his kindness never fail and know no end in my life. And those were all really cool things to lead me in worship. I hope they do for you this morning as well.

(If you can’t see the video in your blog reader, RSS, or e-mail, please click here.)

wesblackburn

Posts

Suncrest//Highland Campus Pastor. But more importantly, 26th place finisher in the 2013 Highland Jack o' Lantern Jog 5k.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

