Nothing Is Wasted.

wesblackburn —  January 21, 2013 — Leave a comment

Back to #MusicMonday this week are our friends from Elevation Worship and their new song “Nothing Is Wasted.”

(If you can’t see the video in your e-mail or RSS reader, please click here.)

I can’t speak for anyone else, but I have spent a significant portion of my life blaming God and being angry at God for not working according to my plan. I’m not proud of it, but it’s true. My best example of that came in college. During my junior year, I had several friends move away and my best friend got married. I was feeling alone, and I was pretty disappointed with God that my life had changed. I spent many a night yelling at God, shedding some angry tears, and just being bitter and disappointed.

Eventually in an act of loving grace, God helped me come to my senses. I could still take you to the spot where I was one night when God just helped me realize how selfish I was being, but also how he had me right where he wanted me in life. I was overwhelmed with this sense of God saying to me, “Wes, I have your best interests at heart. And if this is where I want you in life right now, then you can trust this is the right place for you to be right now.” That realization changed everything.

Romans 8:28 contains one of the Bible’s greatest promises. It says that “we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” If you are a follower of Jesus Christ, God has made a promise that in all things, he is working for your good. That doesn’t mean an always happy, wrinkle-free life. But that does mean that he is working for our good: to grow us, to make us formed more into the likeness of Jesus, and to move his kingdom forward through our lives. To quote this song, nothing is wasted.

I’ve seen it in my life. God used the situation in my life at age 20 to grow me and change me. And now, in a similar season of life four years later, I’ve been able to journey through in a much better, healthier way. God didn’t allow that experience in my life to be wasted. And what’s more, God’s used that experience in my life to be able to reach out to and serve others. Nothing is wasted.

In the moments where life gets tough and difficult, it’s my prayer we’ll be reminded of Romans 8:28 and God’s promise that this song hints at. God is worthy of our trust. He is loving and wise. And he will use every single season of our lives in some incredible way. Maybe not today. Maybe not tomorrow. But he will always work all things for the good of his children. Trusting in that fact, it’s an invitation to worship him.

wesblackburn

Posts

Suncrest//Highland Campus Pastor. But more importantly, 26th place finisher in the 2013 Highland Jack o' Lantern Jog 5k.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

