The Daily.

wesblackburn —  January 9, 2013 — Leave a comment

Well, as we begin the new year, I wanted to re-visit some of the great resources we have shared on here before in an effort to hopefully help you to jump start your relationship with Jesus as you follow him in 2013! I’m excited to share on today’s resource, mostly because it’s been so helpful to me in growing in my relationship with Jesus in the last year.

pic_grow1It’s called The Daily, and it’s a daily (duh) e-mail devotional that gets sent to your inbox by the people at Crossroads Church in the wee hours of the morning every weekday. Each e-mail begins with a reading from Scripture, contains some brief thoughts on what that Scripture means, and then gives some sort of action suggestion. Sometimes, you pray in response to the verse you read. Other times you journal. Sometimes The Daily challenges you to look for an opportunity to do something during the day. Earlier this week, one of the devos was on humility and the challenge was to look for an opportunity during your day to give someone else credit for something. The whole devotion usually takes about 15 minutes to work through. Each version of The Daily also features a Bible reading plan to have you read through the New Testament in a year, should you choose to do so. And what’s more, all of the references and verses in the Daily are linked with Bible Gateway for you to click on right in the e-mail. So you don’t even need to have a Bible with you; all the Scriptures and things referenced are right at the palm of your hand on your smart phone, tablet, or computer.

My goal last year was to make spending time every day with God a priority. JOURNALING I was sick and tired of going through lots of “hot” and “cold” seasons where I’d be all about praying and reading my Bible for a week or two, then totally fall off of the wagon for a month. I was so inconsistent. But having The Daily e-mailed to me every morning was a huge help. Having that e-mail forced me to take time each morning to get alone with God, and it was by far the best time I spent last year. I even did the New Testament Bible reading plan along with it, and that was also really helpful. My journey with Jesus in 2012 still had its ups and downs, but overall it was far more consistent. And regardless of what life threw at me last year (and it threw a lot), I was always able to face it because of the quiet, inner strength and character that came as a result of spending time with God and making that a priority in my life. I cannot encourage you enough to do the same!

Signing up for The Daily is really simple, and it’s absolutely free. Simply click this link, give your e-mail address, click “Subscribe,” and you’re ready to go. I hope you find The Daily to be as helpful to you as it has been to me!

wesblackburn

Posts

Suncrest//Highland Campus Pastor. But more importantly, 26th place finisher in the 2013 Highland Jack o' Lantern Jog 5k.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

