The Best Book I’ve Ever Read on Marriage.

wesblackburn —  January 2, 2013 — Leave a comment

Okay, so I hesitate to use “The Best Book I’ve Ever Read on Marriage” as the title of this post. While it is true, I guess I should add the disclaimer that as a single person I’ve only read about two or three books on marriage. So, take it for what it’s worth. But with all of that said, The Meaning of Marriage by Tim and Kathy Keller is an absolutely phenomenal book. Using the filter of Paul’s words to the Ephesian church in Ephesians 5:21-33, the Kellers talk about the beauty and difficulty of the relationship we call marriage.

I really picked this book up for three reasons. For one, I have never read something written by Tim Keller that I didn’t like. timothy-KELLER-spreading-the-GOSPEL The man is full of some brilliant insight and I would highly recommend picking up anything with his name attached to it. But beyond that simple reason, I also picked up this book wanting to learn more about marriage. As a pastor, I frequently have opportunities to talk to people at our church about their marriage. As such a key relationship in any person’s life, that makes sense. I wanted to be equipped to help as best as I could.

kellerBut even beyond that, I also read this book for a little bit of a personal reason: I want to be married someday. But beyond that, I want to have a great marriage one day. And as anyone who’s been married for a while would tell you, great marriages take work. It’s a slow peeling away of our sinful self-interest and pride as we do our best to grow together with another person. And while I think I have some biblical ideas about relationships and marriage, this book helped reveal in me that there are still several places where God has some significant work to do in me. One of the coolest concepts to me from the book is the simple fact that marriage can be an incredible vehicle of redemption if we will only submit to God’s work through it in our lives. It explains so much about why couples that have been happily married for 40 or 50 years often say that they are the happiest with each other they have ever been; as God has continued to refine each of them through the tool of marriage, they have grown closer to each other as they grow closer to him.

Anyway, all that to say that if you’re married, you need to read this book. If you’re not married and hope to be one day, you need to read this book. Even if you’re bitterly single and think marriage may not be for you, read this book. There’s some great insight here for married and single alike.

(If you’re interested in purchasing and reading this great book, click here for a link to Amazon’s website where you can take a look!)

wesblackburn

Posts

Suncrest//Highland Campus Pastor. But more importantly, 26th place finisher in the 2013 Highland Jack o' Lantern Jog 5k.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

