Never Once.

wesblackburn —  November 19, 2012 — Leave a comment

This is a song I sang in a worship setting for the first time a few weeks ago, and it’s actually a song that we used at services in Hobart and Highland already, and will be using at St. John in a couple of weeks. It’s a really powerful song called “Never Once,” written and performed by Matt Redman. Here’s the video.

(If you can’t see the video in your e-mail or RSS feed, just click here.)

I was shocked at how emotionally overwhelmed I was when we started singing this song at a conference I attended a couple of weeks ago. Literally from the first line, tears were welling up in my eyes. I started thinking about my faith journey, and specifically about my journey in the past year. It’s had some very overwhelming moments. Some lonely moments. Some moments where I was angry, frustrated, and afraid (even with God on occasion). But it’s also had some moments of incredible blessing. Incredible growth. Incredible moments where I’ve seen God do some awesome things in my heart and life.

I’ve seen the scars and troubles along the way, but I’ve also gotten a chance to not just say but proclaim with confidence that never once have I been alone and that God is absolutely, beyond the shadow of a doubt, faithful. He is worthy of the highest level of trust and surrender that we can give.

I hope that leads you to worship him today the way it did for me.

(You can listen to the song “Never Once” and a ton of other great ones on Matt Redman’s record, “10,000 Reasons.”)

wesblackburn

Posts

Suncrest//Highland Campus Pastor. But more importantly, 26th place finisher in the 2013 Highland Jack o' Lantern Jog 5k.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

