A Million Miles In a Thousand Years.

wesblackburn —  November 14, 2012 — 3 Comments

Recently, I finished reading a book that I found highly inspiring, and thought I’d take a little time to recommend it on here.

It’s called A Million Miles in a Thousand Years, and it’s written by Donald Miller (you might recognize that name if you ever read his book Blue Like Jazz). First off, I just absolutely love Donald Miller’s writing. He’s honest, open, funny, and I think approaches the issues of life and spirituality like a regular guy, which I find very refreshing. He’s so engaging, but also a good storyteller and writer.

The concept of A Million Miles is a unique one. After having so much success with his book Blue Like Jazz, some people ask Don if they can make a movie out of it. And of course, like any movie, some editing happens to the story before it reaches the movie theaters. A Million Miles is a book of Don’s reflections on what he learned while “editing” these memoirs of his life.

The whole premise of the book is quite simple: The elements that make a great story also make a great life. In great stories, characters take on great challenges. They overcome adversity. They tell an incredible story. Our lives are much the same, but the sad thing is that when challenge strikes in our lives, the first inclination for us is generally to back away. If you’re like me, you have a tendency to run away from challenges where there is high risk (and high reward) instead of toward them. Great stories are those in which we see characters develop and mature through difficulty, yet much of my story has been spent running from the things that I think God wants to use to change and shape my life and character in positive ways.

Miller ties in to a deep longing inside all of us though. We all want to tell a great story with our lives. I think we just need a reminder to do that. I’ve taught before in settings that a filter we need to run life decisions through is “What story do I want to tell?” After reading this book I’ve never been more convinced that that is an incredibly wise and great question to ask of our lives, especially as we seek to tell a story of God using us to change lives.

Pick it up! Here’s a link to it on Amazon for a hard copy or Kindle version if you’re interested.

Happy reading!

wesblackburn

Posts

Suncrest//Highland Campus Pastor. But more importantly, 26th place finisher in the 2013 Highland Jack o' Lantern Jog 5k.

3 responses to A Million Miles In a Thousand Years.

  1. 

    Yep, I’ve always speculated, but now I know: You could be an English teacher! Love your words–can’t wait to get my hands on this book! Thank you, Wes!

  2. 

    one of my FAVORITE books as well…. remembering the phrase:
    “I want to tell a better story” plays over and over in my mind. appreciate your blog Wes. Always good stuff!

  3. 

    Well thanks to you both, ladies!

Leave a Reply

