Forever Reign.

wesblackburn —  November 5, 2012 — Leave a comment

Today’s song is one that no doubt many of you are already familiar with if you worship regularly with us on Sunday mornings at Suncrest. It’s called “Forever Reign.”

(If you can’t see the video in your e-mail or RSS feed, just click here.)

There’s a ton of stuff I love about this song. In fact, one of my fondest memories of worshipping God happened with this song. I first heard it during the fall of 2010 when I was commuting back and forth between Cincinnati and Suncrest each week finishing up some college classes. We were at the end of the semester and it was crunch time; I had several large projects due and finals right around the corner, and I was just stressed when that got coupled with the workload of helping to startup the Highland Campus (As a sidenote, I do not recommend being a full-time student at a college four hours away and working to start a campus plant all at the same time if you were considering that as a life option.). But when I heard this song, I was immediately reminded in my life that the thing that really mattered wasn’t my stress level, it wasn’t my school stuff that was due, it wasn’t even things related to my job. It was the simple reminder that the riches of God’s love for me would always be enough to sustain me through any season of life, even this one.

I think it’s easy in life for us to get sidetracked and worry about anything and everything. This song always reminds me that in the toughest seasons of life, God is still good, and his love is still all-sustaining for us. It’s also a great reminder that God really does reign forever. And with him in control of my life, what do I have to worry about? Yeah, life may not always work out perfectly neat and even the way I would like it to, but with God in control, I know I can trust him and experience the thrill of that journey with him.

(You can check out this version of “Forever Reign” on the aptly-titled Hillsong Chapel album, “Forever Reign.”)

wesblackburn

Posts

Suncrest//Highland Campus Pastor. But more importantly, 26th place finisher in the 2013 Highland Jack o' Lantern Jog 5k.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

