All This Glory.

wesblackburn —  September 24, 2012 — Leave a comment

One of the things that’s really easy for me to forget sometimes is that in the darkest moments of my life when it feels like nothing is happening, God is at work right under the surface. I just haven’t seen it yet. It’s far from an everyday occurrence, but I’ve had several times in my life where I’ve been so disappointed, so disillusioned, so frustrated, so saddened and then just seen God absolutely blindside me. As a person who’s addicted to progress, I get so disillusioned when there appear to be no signs of life. And then God comes and just turns the whole thing around.

I think that’s probably how a lot of people felt when Jesus came into our world. It was a time of darkness. With the exception of a short window, the Israelites had been under the hand of foreign captors for roughly 400 years. What’s more, in that same amount of time, the nation of Israel heard nothing from God. It had been years since a prophetic voice had broken through and reminded the people God had not forgotten them. People were getting desperate. The promise of a Messiah who would come and deliver salvation seemed like a pipe dream. People were starting to believe the whole God thing was just one enormous joke.

And then came angels telling of the birth of a prophet the likes of which the world had never seen before, and his cousin, the very Son of God. A star appeared in the sky. Wise men came from the east. Years later, word would start to spread about a man who taught in a way no one had ever experienced before. And what’s more, he did miracles. He healed the blind. He raised the dead. He claimed to be ushering the kingdom of God into the world. He was eventually crucified, but people also said that he had risen again.

Light was breaking through.

In the darkness of my life; in the moments where I feel like nothing’s going right, where I feel like transition is more than I can handle, when I feel like I’m never going to make it, I take a little courage from this Biblical account. There are times where I feel like my situation is no different from the ancient Israelites. I feel like life is dark, devoid of hope, full of despair. But in those moments, I’m reminded that the dark moments of my life are the prime opportunity for the light of Christ to break through.

And when I need that reminder, I love this song.

(Song courtesy of the David Crowder*Band and available on the record “White Flag.”)

wesblackburn

Posts

Suncrest//Highland Campus Pastor. But more importantly, 26th place finisher in the 2013 Highland Jack o' Lantern Jog 5k.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

