White Flag.

wesblackburn —  September 10, 2012 — Leave a comment

Today’s Music Monday is sponsored by Chris Tomlin and the crew from Passion, with their song, “White Flag.”

One of the major themes of the Christian faith for me is surrender. Generally, the barometer I use for my relationship with Christ is how surrendered I am to him. For me (and I really think for all of us), great faith = great surrender.

And surrender’s what this song is all about. There have been a lot of times in my life (and maybe yours, too) where I’ve held onto stuff. I’ve refused to surrender. I’ve walked the wrong path in life even though I knew God was leading somewhere else. I’ve held onto some bitterness and anger way too long instead of having the courage to surrender that to God and trust him to take care of it. I’ve refused to surrender my agenda for my life, my money, my desires. And every single time I’ve refused, I’ve always paid in the end. There’s never been a time where God’s been leading me to surrender, I held onto it (whatever “it” is), and then felt like I had a happy outcome in the end.

Conversely, there have been times where God has asked me to surrender, I’ve done so, and I’ve experienced incredible joy as a result. For me, this has played out recently in my job. For a long time, I served on staff as one of our worship arts pastors. It was something I liked. It’s really all I’ve ever known in ministry. But then, an opportunity came along for me to potentially shift into a new position serving at Suncrest as a Campus Pastor. The thought of making that transition was very scary to me. Do I have what it takes? Would it be something I’d be passionate about? Am I the right person? What about all my inexperience?

But you know what? I waved the white flag. I believed God was asking me to surrender my fears and questions to him. And I took the leap. And I’m loving it. I’m so glad I listened to God and surrendered to him. That’s not to say every time we do that it results in total happiness and joy right away (sometimes that won’t come until many years later, or even on the other side of eternity), but it is to say I don’t think we ever regret the moments in our life where we swallow our pride, fear, anger, questions, or whatever else and choose to follow Jesus.

So today as you listen, I pray for the courage and the strength to wave the white flag in your life! Surrender to him… it’s so worth it.

wesblackburn

Posts

Suncrest//Highland Campus Pastor. But more importantly, 26th place finisher in the 2013 Highland Jack o' Lantern Jog 5k.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

