Beyond Sunday- the Nine: Goodness

Kay Roberts —  September 6, 2012 — Leave a comment

…by Rebekah Jackson

I grew up with guilt as a motivator much of the time.  I don’t blame my mom at all; I am finding I parent my kids the same way sometimes so I imagine her mom probably did the same thing.  Guilt doesn’t ever really work, though.  It’s a feeling based on someone else’s feelings which is just a mess to begin with.

 

I love the last part of Bobby’s sentence on Sunday.  Do the right thing, at the right time, in the right way, with the right motivation.  It seems like every time I find a solution in the scriptures to a struggle in my life it has this same thing.  It goes back to my motivation.

 

I don’t want to do the right thing just because it’s right.  I don’t want to teach my kids to do the right thing just because some adult or Bobby and I say so.  And I don’t want to see God’s church do good things because we were told one Sunday morning that it was the right thing to do.

 

What we as the church do causes people to think what they think about God.  When we are showing goodness, the people around us will connect us with God; our goodness with His.  There’s the motivation I need.

 

Just like every other fruit of the Spirit, it isn’t always a natural way for us to react.  That’s the point.  Anyone can love someone who treats them well, wait patiently for something wonderful, return kindness with kindness.  But the Holy Spirit gives us the supernatural power to go beyond all of that and love those who treat us like crap, wait patiently for the unknown, and repay evil with kindness.  So glad that the promise of the Spirit continues on through goodness!

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

