Beyond Sunday: Once Upon a Parable-Built to Last

Kay Roberts —  June 21, 2012 — Leave a comment

…by Beka Jackson

This past week I lead worship at the Hobart campus.  We sang some of my favorites:  “Glory to God”, “Desert Song”, One Thing Remains”, and “Our God.”

During second service, the greeting time ran way longer than the first service and so I needed to say something to gather everyone back together before we could keep singing.  I was reminded in that moment about the constant nature of God.  Although He is huge and there are so many things about Him I love, this is one of my favorite qualities of His nature.

It’s the one thing that I hold onto during the storms in my life.  At least, I like to think so.

It is always so tempting for me to put my trust in other things, even good things.  My trust usually ends up in the hands of people; my husband, my parents, my friends.  The problem with any of that is that they are flawed people, just like me.  When I find myself crushed by a storm in life, I usually learn that I need to recalibrate and remind myself of the only unchanging, completely dependable thing in my life:  God loves me.  He sent his Son to die for me because of the love.  I want everyone else to know that love.

That is a foundation to build on.  A truth that doesn’t change with the seasons and storms of my life.
I am so thankful for the reminder this weekend and my prayer is that I continue to build (and rebuild when fail miserably!) on the foundation of who God is and what He has already done.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

