The Prayer of Surrender.

wesblackburn —  June 11, 2012 — Leave a comment

by Scott King

I’ve always thought “prayer warrior” was a cool phrase.  It certainly makes prayer sound like a much more macho experience than kneeling in silence at your bedside.  I don’t consider myself a “prayer warrior.”  I actually struggle with prayer.  I don’t mean that I don’t pray as often as I should (though that is true enough).  I mean that I find the mental exercise itself difficult at times.  I try not to use that as an excuse not to do it.  I try to do my best in spite of it.  It was simple when I was a kid.  I’d ask God to bless my family and maybe sneak in a couple wishes disguised as prayer.

I’m older now and it’s much more complicated.  Sure, when it comes to thanking Him for the blessings he has already given me it’s easy.  When I am praising Him I don’t have much trouble.  But when I want to pray for something or someone I often think too hard it and get paralyzed by over analysis.  I sometimes wonder if what I’m praying for has already been decided.  I agonize over whether my prayer for a specific outcome is actually for the best or simply a selfish desire based on an extremely narrow perception of reality.  If what I want is for His will to be carried out then why am I wasting His time with my version of how things should be?  I guess I feel like somehow I can solve the problem myself with the perfect prayer.

The thing is, though, I know my God is an awesome God and doesn’t need me to solve the problem.  Even with my struggles, I work really hard to avoid putting boundaries on Him.  I usually work through it and think of it not so much as what I am wanting from Him, but more of what I am surrendering to him.

When it just gets too complicated for me to sort out I try to remember that He is God, and I am not.

I decide to quit over thinking it and simply lay it at the foot of the cross and give it to Him.  I choose not to view it as my problem to solve through prayer, but as a burden to surrender to Him.  I acknowledge that He does indeed have a much greater perspective than I and that His will is superior to my own.

I encourage you to take the time to treat prayer as an exercise in surrender. Sure, take the time to thank Him, praise him, and even seek his blessings.  But, when you are most troubled, when you are really struggling with something, don’t get caught up in the details.  Don’t try to solve it through prayer.  Just pray humbly and honestly and surrender it to Him.

wesblackburn

Posts

Suncrest//Highland Campus Pastor. But more importantly, 26th place finisher in the 2013 Highland Jack o' Lantern Jog 5k.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

