Financial Peace.

wesblackburn —  February 3, 2012 — Leave a comment

Well, it’s that time again.

Every year, our church leads through some sort of series devoted to helping us think about how we use and manage money. This year, we are calling it “Christian Atheist” and we are challenging ourselves to think through the provocative question: Do I say I believe in God but spend and manage my money like I don’t even believe He exists? I am certainly not immune to mismanaging money. One look at my financial profile will show you that. I’ve got some student loans, a huge car payment, and some credit card debt (that I am horribly ashamed of because it’s mostly on spur of the moment, impulse purchases).

No doubt you will be hearing a ton about this in the days and weeks ahead, but our church offers a class called “Financial Peace University,” and it’s great. Through the incredible generosity of a couple at our church (who had went through the program themselves a few years before), I was able to take FPU a couple years ago, and it was probably the most helpful thing I’ve ever done financially in my entire life. While there, I learned some really helpful skills that have helped me be so much more responsible with my money. And while I’m not totally there yet, with each passing month and payment, I’m getting one step closer to financial freedom and that is an incredibly exciting feeling.

If you are on the fence, I want to push you over. DO IT! You will not be sorry you did.

For more info on Financial Peace, you can contact Robin McHugh (robin.mchugh@suncrest.org) about signing up for one of the classes happening at Suncrest this winter/spring.

wesblackburn

Posts

Suncrest//Highland Campus Pastor. But more importantly, 26th place finisher in the 2013 Highland Jack o' Lantern Jog 5k.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

