The Circle Maker.

wesblackburn —  January 16, 2012 — Leave a comment

Hey guys!

Wes here – just wanted to take a few moments to let you know about a great book I just finished this past week on prayer. It encouraged me to think and change in some positive ways in terms of my relationship with Jesus, and hopefully it will for you, too. The book is called The Circle Maker, written by Mark Batterson from National Community Church in Washington D.C.

For all my apparent relational prowess, I have always felt like my prayer life resembles more of the awkwardness a boy and girl dancing at a junior high formal than a well-oiled machine. I think one of the huge reasons, though, is because my prayers are rather small. And boring.

Maybe you can relate. I was raised in a church culture and in a family where we didn’t ask God for a ton. We’d certainly ask for him to watch over us and protect us, and we’d turn to Him whenever facing a decision. But we weren’t much of believers in the miraculous. Don’t get me wrong – we believed in all the stuff that the Bible talks about, but as for modern-day, well… we weren’t holding our breath.

And I think that has translated into my prayer life as an adult. I don’t know that I see God work in a lot of ways through prayer, but if I’m honest, it’s because I haven’t asked Him to. And that’s to my discredit. God is eager to show His power and provide a real testimony in our lives. But He never will if we never offer Him the opportunity through our prayers. That’s not to say by praying we have somehow forced God’s hand, but instead to say that nothing is hard for God. And God offers bold prayers.

Reading through The Circle Maker was a great way to start my year; it’s challenged me to pray bigger this year and sit back and watch God do what only God can!

Hope you guys have an awesome start to 2012. And remember that as we draw near to God, He will draw near to us (James 4:8)!

wesblackburn

Posts

Suncrest//Highland Campus Pastor. But more importantly, 26th place finisher in the 2013 Highland Jack o' Lantern Jog 5k.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

