Beyond Sunday: I Assume… It Will Work Itself Out.

wesblackburn —  July 14, 2011 — Leave a comment

by Jo Anne Stas

When Beka said in this week’s message that she was a lazy person by nature, I think she was being too hard on herself. I know as a fellow mother of five kids it’s almost impossible to be lazy when you have so many children to keep track of. But I understand what she meant by lazy. She meant she’s selectively lazy and I would have to confess so am I. Truth be told, all of us would have the same confession because it’s human nature for us to take the path of least resistance, especially when it comes to things we really don’t want to do. We put off things that are hard, uncomfortable, costly or even scary. And we justify our behavior with all kinds of excuses including the excuse “If I ignore it, it will work itself out.”

The older I get though, the more I’m learning that things don’t always work out by themselves, especially if I don’t put any effort into them. The latest issue I’ve been working on (because it didn’t work by ignoring it) is my health. For the last four months I’ve been eating healthier and exercising every day. It’s been hard at times, especially in the beginning when I was so out of shape I could hardly spend five minutes on a workout machine. But little by little I’m seeing my efforts are paying off. My blood pressure is lower, I’ve lost weight (over 50 lbs) and I feel better in general. I think any issue we finally decide to stop ignoring and put effort into will be hard at times but God will graciously give us the strength to get through it. Philippians 4:13 says, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Maybe it’s a matter of repeating that verse over and over when the going gets hard or maybe we need to “manufacture motivation” like Beka said or ask someone to hold us accountable; whatever it is that works we need to do it because if we don’t chances are good… nothing will change.

wesblackburn

Posts

Suncrest//Highland Campus Pastor. But more importantly, 26th place finisher in the 2013 Highland Jack o' Lantern Jog 5k.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

