Beyond Sunday: Forgotten Virtues-Loyalty

Kay Roberts —  June 12, 2011 — Leave a comment

…by Beka Jackson

I think of myself as a loyal person.  Bobby would even say that is something he loves about me; that I am loyal.  But Sunday morning at the end of the 11:00 service, I was feeling not so loyal!

Proverbs 18:24 is one of my favorite verses of the Bible.  “A man of many companions may come to ruin, but there is a friend that sticks closer than a brother.”

I haven’t always been that friend.  Being loyal to my family, the people that I see every day, that comes naturally for me.  But my friends, my neighbors, not so much.  Greg talked about being a friend when it was difficult, when you didn’t know what to say.  That is me.  So this week, when a friend was going through something difficult, I called.  I texted, I visited.  It was uncomfortable, but it did what it was supposed to.  My friend felt loved and cared for.  Her situation was a little less unbearable because her friends walked along side her, even when we didn’t exactly know how.

But really, it comes down to this for me.  When I first heard the Proverbs passage, I was in high school and I thought it was talking about Christ.  I have always thought of Him as Friend, a loyal friend.  A friend that would maybe not be heard or seen when I needed one, but a friend who is there always walking along side of me, making my life more bearable because He was there.  Not because I make Him happy, or I do favors for him, or even because I love him back, but simply because he choose to love me and promised he would be loyal.  No matter what.  I love the scriptures in Isaiah where God reminds us that He has called us by name and will never forsake us. 

I want to be that kind of a person.  I want to be counted on as a friend, a neighbor, a wife, a mom, no matter what.  No matter what kind of help they need, trouble they have gotten themselves in to, or how long it has been since we last talked, I want people to think of my name and know that I will do whatever I can.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

