Beyond Sunday: Faces-Fascinated

Kay Roberts —  April 11, 2011 — Leave a comment

… by Kevin McHugh

It made me smile to hear about young Jack Lee’s moments of fascination with the dolphin in Florida and at the recent Hawks game. I suppose it’s true that our experiences of fascination go down after we grow up. Now there’s an analogy to learn from – we should not let our fascination with God diminish over time.

When Jesus was making disciples on Earth, He was constantly fascinating people. Greg went to the Gospel of Luke to teach us about this.

 After this, Jesus went out and saw a tax collector by the name of Levi sitting at his tax booth. “Follow me” Jesus said to him, and Levi got up, left everything and followed him. – Luke 5:27-28. Fascinating…

The Pharisees were less fascinated; they were more ticked off and probably felt threatened or exposed, so they complained to the disciples about Jesus hanging out with sinners and tax collectors. Jesus’ reply to this is one of my favorite verses – Jesus answered them, “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick.” – Luke 5:31

 Then there was Zacchaeus; chief tax collector, worst of the worst. Yet he was so fascinated with Jesus that he climbed a tree just to get a glimpse of Him as He passed by. How did Jesus react to this? “Zacchaeus, come down immediately. I must stay at your house today”  -from Luke 19:5. Fascinating…

 So how are we fascinated with our Lord? Is our fascination appropriately big or is it diminishing?

 For me, there are different aspects to this. but I have to confess my fascination is more random than it should be. For example, I will notice something beautiful and complex in nature and marvel in fascination on God’s creative powers. Another way is the times I notice events and people coming together in special ways where I can see God’s hand organizing it all – coincidence? I think not. Fascinating!

 Another area is when I think about prayer – the Lord of everything in the entire Universe cares about me and hears me when I pray. Now that’s fascinating. 

 There is at least one way where I am not random about it, but quite intentional instead. That time is when I take communion and ponder what Jesus did for me. I guess it is the most amazing thing of all that despite everything we’ve done Christ went to the cross to bear our sins so we can go to heaven.  That’s beyond fascinating, isn’t it?

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

