It Came From Within!

wesblackburn —  March 24, 2011 — Leave a comment

So this week, I wanted to share with everyone on here a great resource that is currently helping me cultivate my relationship with Jesus. Thought I would pass it along to all of you as well!

The resource is actually a book called “It Came From Within!” that was recommended to me in a spiritual growth assessment that I took a few weeks ago. Surprise, surprise, it’s by one of my favorite authors and thinkers, good ol’ Andy Stanley.

The whole concept, though, is huge. We all have some ugly stuff inside of us, buried deep down in our hearts and minds. It’s that thing inside of us where sometimes we think a thought and wonder, “Where in the world did that come from?” Sometimes, it even (embarrassingly) shows itself in a comment that we accidentally let loose with.

So why is that? A lot of it has to do with our hearts. We just have this way of burying stuff deep inside: attitudes of anger, guilt, jealousy, and greed. These are all attitudes that manifest themselves in really unhealthy ways in our lives, unless we learn how to properly deal with them, expose them, and really take care of them. I know that for me, I feel like I see these ugly things in my heart manifest themselves in my life all the time. And most of the time, I have no idea what to do about it. But the great thing about this book is that Andy Stanley really offers some great advice on what can be done about these ugly attitudes in our hearts. While I haven’t finished the book yet, I’ve actually started to apply a little bit of what I learned. And it works.

And that is really exciting.

So check it out! A great read that I highly recommend. Plus, the book has a big “Godzilla” looking monster on the front and has this little monster movie theme running throughout. So guys, you can still look manly while learning to deal with what’s hidden in your heart. It’s a win for everyone!

wesblackburn

Posts

Suncrest//Highland Campus Pastor. But more importantly, 26th place finisher in the 2013 Highland Jack o' Lantern Jog 5k.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

