Beyond Sunday: Love is a Decision

Kay Roberts —  February 10, 2011 — Leave a comment

…by Dave Wright

What do you think about this???  I don’t care what you think…!

I am sorry, but I am trying to watch TV.  Ask me later…

Can you believe what he said?  Talk about not being very smart…

Are you listening to me?  Do I have to talk to you like a 4 year old?

I can’t be there for you….I have committee meetings every night!

 Proverbs 15:1 – A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.

 Isn’t it easier to make the decision to rattle off a sarcastic comment or answer to someone you love?  It is almost equivalent to 1,000 tiny cuts…each one hurts until combined it is overwhelming.  It is more overwhelming to realize that is what we do to God.  We ignore and get buried into our own life while He reminds us daily that He chose to have a relationship with us.

 Greg reminded us Sunday that God chose to have a relationship with us…one so amazing that He sent His only son to die on the cross for our sins.  Romans 5:8 says, “While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”

 Romans 12:10 also reminds us to “Honor one another above your selves.”  Honor and service are two keys to a healthy relationship.  My kids sometimes think it is corny when their stepmom and I do things for each other…just because.  I tell them they will find someone someday to have the same type of relationship…just remember it is about honoring one another.

 Are you ready to make a choice in your relationship?  A good start would be to check out the Relationship Seminar March 4-5 at our St. John Campus – watch the bulletin for more information.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

