I… Am Not.

wesblackburn —  January 26, 2011 — 1 Comment

I am not all there is.

That statement sounds really simple and easy. Of course, not many people in the world would just say, “Yep. I’m the most important person in the world. There is nothing more important than me; my wishes, my dreams, my desires.”

But we tend to live a lot differently.

We may not say that we are the most important thing in the world, but oftentimes our words and actions don’t really align in this area, do they? If they did, perhaps we’d discover that we are having less fights. We’d probably find ourselves having to apologize less. We’d discover, strangely enough, that more of our lives make sense when we aren’t so fixated on making us the center of them.

Recently I’ve been working through a book called “I Am Not But I Know I Am” by Louie Giglio (not finished yet, but when I am, I’ll let you know!). Louie is actually the primary leader of a movement called Passion, and I just got an opportunity to attend their annual conference in Atlanta a few weeks ago. The whole conference is designed to really express a desire to make God the center of all we do and of all that we are living for (the way I think our lives are really meant to be lived). I certainly got a chance to observe firsthand Louie’s intense desire to see that happen… to create a generation of students that are making the glory and fame of God the desire of their souls, and not the glorification of ourselves.

That’s refreshing. There’s an amazing, unexpected freedom that comes in letting yourself NOT be the center of all there is for once. There’s something incredible that happens when we live lives that make much of God, without really worrying about whether or not we are making much of ourselves. I think that experience of living this way is one of the basic building blocks of cultivating a personal relationship with Jesus.

Isaiah 26:8 says “Yes, Lord, we wait for you… your name and renown are the desire of our souls.” It’s time that we all take those words off of the page and amplify them with the way we live our lives – a living declaration of Isaiah 26:8.

wesblackburn

Posts

Suncrest//Highland Campus Pastor. But more importantly, 26th place finisher in the 2013 Highland Jack o' Lantern Jog 5k.

One response to I… Am Not.

  1. 

    This book and PASSION sound awesome, Wes. How fortunate you were to be able to attend the conference…how uplifting! Keeping God at the center and putting oneself last…Oh how I wish I could wave my magic wand and impart this crucial, passionate way of life to my 18-year-old daughter–who has decided she is “agnostic.” (How badly my heart aches.) Your words also bring to mind the phrase, “Let go…and let God.” I’ve certainly had to lean on and acknowledge Him, and not on my own understanding. Thank you for today’s Wesley Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

