Ruthless.

wesblackburn —  January 19, 2011 — Leave a comment

Well, as anyone involved in a relationship knows, the key builder (and destroyer) of relationships is the issue of trust.

This is true in any and every relationship, not just romantic ones. I know that my best friend is always looking out for my best interests. I trust her to do that for me. When there’s something in my life that is wrong or just isn’t lining up or is a cause for concern, I know that she’s going to remind me of that. And in moments where we experience conflict, I know that I can trust my best friend to be looking out for my good. And that’s comforting. Hopefully you have a similar relationship in your life.

Likewise, we have some relationships in our lives where we don’t trust the other person. And if it’s a key relationship in your life, that can become a real problem really fast. But we’ve all experienced the incredible pain that comes when you trust someone but find that that trust was ill-placed. Secrets are shared. You are taken advantage of. We live in a world where there is sort of this “don’t trust anyone” mantra. I know that that has permeated my life for sure. I have a real problem opening up to and trusting people. At times, I’m downright cynical.

But in 2011, a big conviction that I’m having is that I need to live a life that matches up to the gospel. In other words, if I were to follow my faith and what I believe in to its logical conclusion, what would my life look like? In light of the gospel story that I believe is truth, what just doesn’t match up?

This hits at key issues. For instance, worry. If we really believe in a God who is greater than any other being in the entire universe and that God truly does love us and care for us more than we can imagine, why would we ever worry? This is what Jesus hints at in Matthew 6. Worry shows that we don’t really trust our heavenly Father. If we did, we would know that God is so in control and He is so for us that we have nothing to worry about!

That’s just one example. Perhaps you can think of several others in your life. But for me, I am under the conviction that my life needs to reflect the God I place my faith in. And I think the key aspect of that is a trust in God that can only be described as ruthless. A trust and faith in God that declares in the midst of every trial and temptation that I believe God’s plans are greater, bigger, and better than mine. I want to trust God as much as a human heart possibly can. I just had a conversation with someone tonight where I mentioned a situation that I was really needing to trust God, and we both sort of arrived at this conclusion that trust situations are the ones that seem to grow our faith the most. It shows us that God is all we have… and all we need.

Today’s Cultivate blog entry is my humble attempt to encourage you to trust in God like you never have before. And may that trust affect the whole of our lives: how we value the world’s opinions, how we give of our time, talents, and resources, how we work, how we raise families, and even how we simply have the boldness to do the great work we may feel God stirring us to do in our hearts, no matter how crazy it seems.

Suncrest, let’s make 2011 a year where we trust God like never before.

Let’s live lives that match up to the great glory of the gospel.

wesblackburn

Posts

Suncrest//Highland Campus Pastor. But more importantly, 26th place finisher in the 2013 Highland Jack o' Lantern Jog 5k.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

